Markus Kraler
Markus Kraler


Markus Kraler

Double Bass, Accordion, Composition

Bettina Rainer
Bettina Rainer


Bettina Rainer

Dulcimer, Voice

Angelika Rainer
Angelika Rainer


Angelika Rainer

Harp, Zither, Voice

Nikolai Tunkowitsch
Nikolai Tunkowitsch


Nikolai Tunkowitsch

Violin

Johannes Eder
Johannes Eder


Johannes Eder

Clarinet, Bass Clarinet

Romed Hopfgartner
Romed Hopfgartner


Romed Hopfgartner

Soprano & Alto Saxophone, Clarinet

Martin Senfter
Martin Senfter


Martin Senfter

Valve trombone, Voice

Andreas Schett
Andreas Schett


Andreas Schett

Trumpet, Voice, Composition, Artistic Leader

Andreas Fuetsch
Andreas Fuetsch


Andreas Fuetsch

Tuba

Markus Rainer
Markus Rainer


Markus Rainer

Trumpet, Voice

Stefan Schett
Stefan Schett


Stefan Schett

Sound Engineer

About FRANUI

About FRANUI

Biography

Franui is the name of a mountain pasture close to the small village of Innervillgraten, located at 1,402 meters above sea level in East Tyrol in Austria, where most of the Franui musicians grew up. The word is of Rhaeto-Romanic origin and refers to the proximity of Innervillgraten to the Ladin-speaking region in the Dolomite Alps.

 

The Musicbanda of the same name have been playing together in nearly the same lineup since 1993 and are frequently invited to perform at major festivals and venues, e.g. Konzerthaus Vienna, Burgtheater Vienna, Salzburg Festival, Bregenzer Festspiele, Ruhrtriennale, Holland Festival, State Opera Unter den Linden Berlin, Münchner Opernfestspiele, Philharmonie Cologne, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Schauspielhaus Zurich, Philharmonie Luxembourg or Philharmonie de Paris, to name just a few.

 

Their adaptations of lieder by Schubert, Schumann, Brahms and Mahler have earned Franui renown beyond the borders of Austria. The ensemble regard themselves as a “transformer station between classical music, folk music, jazz and contemporary chamber music;” sometimes the original is lovingly celebrated in all its beauty, at others it is turned upside up (or down), stripped down to its bare bones, enhanced, painted over, elaborated, in a process that blurs the boundaries between interpretation and improvisation, between arrangement and (re)composition.

 

For their live shows and music theater productions Franui frequently collaborate with other exceptional performers, including baritone Florian Boesch, writer Hans Magnus Enzensberger, puppeteer Nikolaus Habjan, Viennese song-duo “Die Strottern”, the mask theater ensemble “Familie Flöz”, video artist Jonas Dahlberg or actors Dörte Lyssewski, Dagmar Manzel, Sven-Eric Bechtolf and Peter Simonischek.

 

Since 2015 Franui are in charge of programming the festival “Gemischter Satz” hosted by Konzerthaus Vienna each year in May, which presents new forms of interaction between music, art, literature and wine.

 

Franui’s albums are released with the label col legno and have won several prizes. In 2018 “Ständchen der Dinge,” the album celebrating the ensemble’s 25th anniversary, won the German Record Critics’ Award.

Markus Kraler
Markus Kraler


Markus Kraler

Kontrabass, Akkordeon, Komposition

Bettina Rainer
Bettina Rainer


Bettina Rainer

Hackbrett, Stimme

Angelika Rainer
Angelika Rainer


Angelika Rainer

Harfe, Zither, Stimme

https://www.haymonverlag.at/autoren/angelika-rainer/

Nikolai Tunkowitsch
Nikolai Tunkowitsch


Nikolai Tunkowitsch

Violine

https://www.tunkowitsch.at

Johannes Eder
Johannes Eder


Johannes Eder

Klarinette, Bassklarinette

Romed Hopfgartner
Romed Hopfgartner


Romed Hopfgartner

Sopran- & Altsaxophon, Klarinette

Martin Senfter
Martin Senfter


Martin Senfter

Ventilposaune, Stimme

Andreas Schett
Andreas Schett


Andreas Schett

Trompete, Stimme, Komposition, Künstl. Leitung

https://www.quart.at

https://www.circus.at

Andreas Fuetsch
Andreas Fuetsch


Andreas Fuetsch

Tuba

Markus Rainer
Markus Rainer


Markus Rainer

Trompete, Stimme

https://www.mphil.de/personen/markus-rainer.html

Stefan Schett
Stefan Schett


Stefan Schett

Klangregie

https://www.makamuri.com

Über FRANUI

Über FRANUI

Franui ist der Name einer ganz bestimmten Almwiese im kleinen, 1.402 Meter über dem Meer gelegenen Osttiroler Dorf Innervillgraten, in dem die Musiker von Franui großteils aufgewachsen sind. Das Wort ist rätoromanischen Ursprungs und verweist auf die geografische Nähe Innervillgratens zum ladinischen Sprachraum in den Dolomiten.

 

Die Musicbanda gleichen Namens spielt seit 1993 in nahezu unveränderter Besetzung und ist bei den renommiertesten Festivals und Konzerthäusern zu Gast, u.a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen, den Bregenzer Festspielen, der Ruhrtriennale, dem Holland Festival, den Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen, den Münchner Opernfestspielen, im Burgtheater Wien, in der Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, der Philharmonie Köln, der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, der Philharmonie Luxembourg, dem Schauspielhaus Zürich oder der Philharmonie de Paris, um nur wenige zu nennen.

 

Mit ihren Aneignungen der Lieder von Schubert, Schumann, Brahms und Mahler wurde die Musicbanda Franui über die Grenzen Österreichs hinaus bekannt. Dabei versteht sich das Ensemble als »Umspannwerk zwischen Klassik, Volksmusik, Jazz und zeitgenössischer Kammermusik«; manches Mal wird die klassische Vorlage in all ihrer Schönheit liebevoll zelebriert, manches Mal vom Kopf auf die Füße gestellt (oder umgekehrt), skelettiert, angereichert, übermalt, weitergedacht. Die Grenzen zwischen Interpretation, Improvisation, Arrangement und (Re-)Komposition verschwimmen.

 

Bei ihren Konzerten und Musiktheaterproduktionen verbünden sich die MusikerInnen häufig mit herausragenden BühnenpartnerInnen wie dem Bariton Florian Boesch, dem Autor Hans Magnus Enzensberger, dem Puppenspieler Nikolaus Habjan, dem Wienerlied-Duo »Die Strottern«, dem Maskentheater-Ensemble »Familie Flöz«, dem Videokünstler Jonas Dahlberg oder den SchauspielerInnen Dörte Lyssewski, Dagmar Manzel, Sven-Eric Bechtolf oder Peter Simonischek.

 

Im Wiener Konzerthaus gestaltet Franui seit 2015 jährlich im Mai das Festival »Gemischter Satz«, bei dem Musik, Bildende Kunst, Literatur und Wein in einem neuen Zusammenspiel präsentiert werden.

 

Die CDs von Franui erscheinen beim Label col legno und wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Zuletzt erhielt »Ständchen der Dinge«, das Album zum 25. Geburtstag des Ensembles, 2018 den renommierten »Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik«.

Newsletter

Newsletter